March 23, 2012

We have had a couple really fun weekends in a row and I just thought I’d share about some of our adventures! Not to mention that the spring weather is just motivating us to get out and actually DO some fun things! We are loving it.

Last weekend was packed but so much fun. Eric and I were honored to be able to go along with a group of people on a hike up the Smokies (the Chimney Tops hike) to watch one of our friends get engaged! The hike was about 2 miles and parts of it were very steep – I have to admit that I really underestimated how hard it would be and found myself dripping with sweat toward the end. Once at the top, though, the view was gorgeous. There were these huge rocks you could climb up to get even higher that we ended up climbing – I have never been more scared in my life when it was time to go back down the rocks. It was fun to do once, but I swore I’d never do it again!

Our friend’s (Nicole) fiance had a professional photographer lined up to hike up with us and then take some pictures of him proposing. He got some wonderful shots and I had to download a shot that he got of Eric and me on the way down the mountain.

Photo taken by Mile Marker Images

Photo taken by Mile Marker Images

The trip down was much more relaxed & enjoyable than the trip up!

The next day (Sunday) another friend (Ellen) was in town who is a photographer. Eric and I were never able to get engagement pictures done before our wedding, so we asked Ellen if she would do them now (although even though I call them “engagement pictures” they really aren’t, ha)! We had a lot of fun with her and she sent us 5 that she already has done – I am so happy with them, she is an incredible photographer! I’ll post one but when Ellen sends us a CD, we will put all of the pictures up on facebook and get some printed! I am so excited. Samson came along with us and even though he didn’t cooperate very well, Ellen managed to get some really good pictures of us with him.

Photo by Ellen Magnolia Photography

This weekend we have been able to spend some time outside and we got to go watch the movie The Hunger Games (a book turned into a movie). I read the book trilogy and LOVED them so we had to watch the movie. Eric really liked the movie so he has started (and almost finished) the book this weekend.

I started this new book called a “smashbook” which has become popular lately. It’s like a scrapbook but much messier and on-the-go. I LOVE it and have already finished a couple of the pages. I wish I had started this book right when we got married and I wish I had kept a lot of little pointless things to put in the book (it’s easy to paste receipts, brochures, pictures, movie ticket stubs, etc. in it) but starting now will still be just as fun. I would highly recommend it for anyone that likes scrapbooking but doesn’t have much time to do it! Here is my first page a little bit before it was complete.

My Smashbook!

Other than that, Eric and I have just been enjoying evening walks with Samson, watching Netflix, and reading. I am loving the spring weather although some of these days have just been a liiiittle bit too hot for me. That’s okay, though, because it’s nice to have some weather where I don’t have to layer on jackets just to take our dog out!

Hope all is well with everyone! We miss you all and can’t wait to come home next (although it may not be for Easter because Eric doesn’t get Good Friday off) :(. I leave you with a picture of our spoiled baby! 🙂 Have a wonderful end of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

