October 29, 2011

It’s the weekend! Although I really can’t say the week was too hard – my hours have been reduced for a couple of weeks until one of my co-workers leaves for another job on November 7th. This week I only logged 18 hours, which was fun at the time, but getting a paycheck for last week will not be as fun as my normal paychecks! Ghost, however, had a nice, productive week:

All ready for the work day!

Eric and I have been taking advantage of the lovely weather by……………. watching movies. Okay, so we really need to get out and hike. We have gone on a couple walks, and if you count going from the car to the gym and from the car to our apartment, we’ve spent some time outside. But I’d really love to take more advantage of the gorgeous weather and hit the Smokies! Penciling this into my planner…

This weekend ended up being the weekend to try some amazing new (and some tried and true old) recipes. Pinterest has led me to all kinds of blogs where people blog about new recipes they’ve tried. And I’m quite the sucker for a good recipe and some good food.

The first thing I HAD to try as soon as I saw a good tutorial, was homemade sushi. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint. I took a trip to the local Asian market. I didn’t expect all the ingredients to be so tricky to find. The imitation crab meat, cucumber, and avocado was easy… the Nori (dried seaweed) and sushi rice… not so easy. But I found it and bought it and made my way home to try.

The first roll I made was WAY too fat. I ate it to destroy evidence. Then the second time was a charm, because it turned out amazingly! My pretty sushi is wrapped up in the fridge because my first failed batch left me feeling quite full. Here are some pictures of the process:

My second attempt at spreading rice

All rolled up - much better than the first one

Me with the finished product!

My second experiment was with the brownies I talked about in the last post. They turned out well, although they weren’t much better than any ordinary brownies. After I made them, I realized I feel guilty when I eat too many sweets, and that is exactly what these brownies will do. Oh well, still fun to try!

Cookies 'n' Cream Oreo Fudge Brownies

Well, everything is going well with us. Work is good, life is good, and we are good! I am anxiously awaiting the first time we will have trick-or-treaters at OUR own place and in anticipation, went and loaded up on Halloween candy. Sadly, I have eaten about 1/5 of that candy. It needs to be put up higher so I can’t get to it. Eric would say that somehow, I’d find a way to eat it. However, there’s enough left for the trick-or-treaters and I’m excited to turn on our light and see all the cute little costumes!

Eric and me with our trick-or-treat candy!

We hope everyone is doing wonderfully and are so excited to come home on the 12th of November for Emily’s musical & birthday. We hope to spend time with all of you and catch up. We hope your upcoming weeks go by smoothly and we’ll see you soon!

– Jessica

Leave a Reply

