October 16, 2011

The weeks are rushing by as we continue to fall into our routines. Work has been going well, although I know I need something to light a fire under my butt to make me finish my online class. 7 lessons and 1 final to go. After that, it’s hopefully on to substitute teaching and then Lord willing, an actual teacher job.

(If you haven’t noticed, I go back and forth constantly between wanting to teach and not wanting to teach. Because of the site pinterest.com and the hundreds of teaching blogs it has led me to, I now want to teach again! How long will this last?)

The cooler weather has been a welcome change. We haven’t run our air condition for almost a month now, but last night was the first night it was actually COLD in our room – our favorite way to sleep.

Our kittens continue to be a source of entertainment, although Eric and I are both at the point where we would love an animal that would actually listen to us and that is capable of being trained. We are anxiously waiting and saving for a house so that we may be able to get a puppy! For me, though, the cats are still fun and I think Eric doesn’t hate them yet ;-). I’m just glad they are getting along. It’s nice to know they both have a friend to play with while we are at work all day.

The Two Trouble Makers

This past weekend was my birthday and Eric and I have had a very fun weekend! On Saturday, I opened presents and then Eric came with me to run errands, which was a nice change from running errands on my own. In the evening, we went out to eat at Wasabi and I decided to splurge and get the regular meal AND sushi… I love their sushi!

On Saturday afternoon, Eric and I finally got around to carving a pumpkin for Halloween. We decided on “The Nightmare Before Christmas” theme and were really happy with how it turned out. I love carving pumpkins and it was a fun birthday activity!

Our Jack-O-Lantern

On pinterest, I keep seeing projects I would LOVE to do myself for our house decor. This week, I want to focus on one and see if I can actually get it finished. Here’s the idea:

The first atlas cut out is of the first place you met your husband. The second, where you married or where your first home was. The third cut out is where you honeymooned. I think it looks like such a cute idea and it looks like it could be a fairly cheap DIY.

Other than that, nothing much has been happening. Our lives aren’t the most exciting ones, but we are still having fun and enjoying Knoxville. We anxiously await the next time we are able to come home, but for now are enjoying our slow-paced, relaxing weekends. Until next time!

– Jessica

Leave a Reply

