September 7, 2011

This week has been a little bit unpredictable! On Sunday, Eric and I were looking forward to going downtown and watching fireworks for Boomsday – but it poured all evening long, so we ended up just watching the fireworks on the TV. It was still fun to see how Knoxville celebrates Labor Day, but it was a little bit disappointing to miss going downtown for fireworks.

Boomsday Ad

This week I’ve started working just a little bit. Yesterday I had orientation for a few hours and today I was supposed to go in to work at 10 this morning but got a call saying attendance is low and they don’t need me until 3 o’clock. I like easing into a work schedule, but I also like the idea of earning some more money than what I will be earning this week! But I’ll use the time this morning to work on my substitute teaching course and to plan some lessons for the kids at the daycare.

A couple weeks ago Eric and I finally got to attend a “community group” at church. Community groups are what I would have called “Sunday School” growing up. They are groups of people getting together before the church service and listening to someone teach on a specific part of the Bible and also to get to spend some time with other people at church. Our community group is for newly married couples and it was a lot of fun to finally meet some people our age who could be good friends. I have never felt so welcomed into a group before. We will get to go to a small group on Thursday with some of the members of our community group and are really excited!

We have really enjoyed Fellowship Church here in Knoxville – even though it is very different from what I am used to in the sense that it is about 50x bigger than my home church! The people are all so friendly, though, and the sermons are also very biblically based.

Today I am trying to make some crock pot meat balls and some corn on the cob. The corn on the cob, I am predicting, will be pretty terrible because it’s not fresh. But I’m hoping the meat balls turn out okay! I’m looking for all kinds of slow cooker recipes, so if anyone has a good one, send it my way!

This upcoming weekend will hopefully be spent mini golfing, getting a free Chick-Fil-A breakfast (go here — http://www.chick-fil-aforbreakfast.com/Start — if you like Chick-Fil-A and would like a free breakfast!!), attending community groups again (last week community groups didn’t meet because of Labor Day), working out, and maybe taking Guen for another walk! But mostly Eric and I will spend time relaxing together and preparing for hopefully a full week of work next week for me! We’re crossing our fingers!

I hope the week ends well for everyone! We are thinking of you all!

Leave a Reply

