December 4, 2011

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmaaaaaaaas! I, for one, am very happy about this. Our tree is up, we have lights and greenery all over the apartment, and our air wick wall plugins smell like Christmas! This is my favorite time of the year and I have LOVED preparing for the first Christmas I’ll spend married to Eric! He has been so helpful and accommodating to my overflowing Christmas Spirit.

We didn’t get to go to a big, fun Christmas tree farm to get our tree (we would’ve had to drive at least 30 miles for a place like that around here) so we found a place selling them here in town and this place delivered, which was perfect for us since we both have tiny little cars. I wasted no time at all decorating as soon as the tree was delivered and was pretty satisfied with the result!

Our tree!

I even convinced Eric to take a picture with me in front of the tree… although I managed to cut off his head. Oops!

Sorry, Eric...

The weird thing about this December is that temperatures have been in the mid 60s here in Knoxville! I don’t remember ever experiencing temps like this in the month of December. I am loving it, though… this is my absolute favorite weather! Cool enough for a jacket, but not so cold that it’s unbearable to be outside. I love it.

We had a wonderful time being home for Thanksgiving and eagerly anticipate coming home for Christmas. We will both get an entire week off from work so we can’t wait to come home and relax! We will come home Tuesday evening (the 20th) and leave the following Tuesday (the 27th). The longer we get to be home, though, the more eager we are to be home permanently. We’ve loved our time in Knoxville and will stay here for as long as the Lord wants us here, but we miss our families and friends.

Our Santa Hustle 5k is next Sunday and I am so excited to run in my first 5k! I know I won’t get a great time, but this is all for fun so I’m excited to run next Sunday. Hopefully this is the first of many 5ks! Eric and I have been in the gym a lot lately (ok… Eric is at the gym a lot all the time. For me it has just been lately!) and I’ve been trying to live a healthier lifestyle. However, when the only desserts in our house are yogurt and Special K bars, I start to crave lots and lots of sweets. So here’s to hoping I can keep this healthy thing up!

The only other thing going on with us is something I decided to do last minute. I read this blog article: http://www.thedatingdivas.com/tara/the-spouse-christmas-countdown/ and decided I wanted to do a Christmas countdown! So day by day Eric has been reading a piece of paper giving a compliment, offering a service, or suggesting an activity. It has been fun to open them because I mixed them all up and it’s a surprise to me too! It’s been such a fun project and it may be something I do every year, hopefully including kids in that tradition some day!

Christmas Countdown!

Well, the weekend is almost over and work soon begins. I hope all is well with everyone and we can’t wait to be home to see friends and family! Merry almost Christmas!

- Jessica

Leave a Reply

